At Michigan State University excellence is a continuing tradition. MSU is a research intensive, land-grant university where people matter. The University is dedicated to educating tomorrow’s leaders and scholars. Innovative and hard-working, MSU advances knowledge and transforms lives, extending learning to actively serve Michigan, the Nation and the international community.

Our core values and mission remain guided by and grounded in our land-grant history. This is reflected in our ongoing commitment to:

  • Quality: Dedicating ourselves to achieving excellence in all of our endeavors – good enough for the proudest and recognized among the best
  • Inclusiveness: Providing opportunity for learners from all backgrounds – bringing their passion and talent to join a vibrant, intellectual community built on mutual respect – to experience and to multiply the benefits of the power of knowledge throughout their lives
  • Connectivity: Among one another, among academic enterprises, to society and to those we serve – locally, nationally, and globally.

For the complete University Mission statement refer to

Joel Ferguson, Chairperson
Term ends January 1, 2021

Mitch Lyons, Vice Chairperson
Term ends January 1, 2019

Brian Breslin
Term ends January 1, 2019

Dianne Byrum
Onondaga Township
Term ends January 1, 2017

Melanie Foster
East Lansing
Term ends January 1, 2025

Dan Kelly
Term ends January 1, 2025

Brian Mosallam
Term ends January 1, 2021

George Perles
East Lansing
Term ends January 1, 2023

Lou Anna K. Simon
President, Ex Officio

Lou Anna K. Simon,

June Youatt,
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Satish Udpa,
Executive Vice President for Administrative Services

Stephen Hsu,
Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies

Bill Beekman,
Vice President and Secretary of the Board of Trustees

Robert Groves,
Vice President for University Advancement

Mark Burnham,
Vice President for Governmental Affairs

Robert A. Noto,
General Counsel and Vice President for Legal Affairs

Denise Maybank,
Vice President for Student Affairs and Services

Heather Swain,
Vice President for Communications and Brand Strategy

Paulette Granberry Russell,
Director of the Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives

Mark Haas,
Vice President for Finance and Treasurer

Vennie Gore,
Vice President for Auxiliary Enterprises

Dan Bollman,
Associate Vice President for Strategic Infrastructure Planning and Facilities

Rob McCurdy,
Associate Vice President and Chief Information Officer for IT Services

Phil Zecher,
Chief Investment Officer